The IGAC International Project Office (IPO) staff works with the international atmospheric science community to implement the organizations priorities and activities set forth by an volunteer Scientific Steering Committee (SSC). The committee is currently comprised of sixteen research scientists from around the world. The IGAC liaisons are representatives of organizations that share IGAC's mission. Many IGAC activities and events are held jointly with these organizations. IGAC welcomes nominations and self-nominations to its SSC from the international scientific community. IGAC is currently accepting nominations for the 2020 SSC. Nominations will be accepted until 15 March 2019. For more information on the IGAC SSC nomination process, please visit the IGAC SSC Nominations webpage.


Megan L. Melamed Megan L. Melamed
University of Colorado/CIRES, USA

Scientific Steering Committee

Mark Lawrence Mark Lawrence (Co-Chair)
Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS), Germany
Hiroshi Tanimoto (Co-Chair) Hiroshi Tanimoto (Co-Chair)
National Institute for Environmental Studies (NIES), Japan
Beukes Photo Paul Beukes
North-West University, South Africa
Jim Crawford James Crawford
Gregory Frost Gregory Frost
Christian George Christian George
CNRS, France
Grutter Photo Michael Grutter
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico
Colette Heald Colette Heald
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Hoelzemann Photo Judith Hoelzemann
Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
Alastair Lewis Alastair Lewis
University of York, UK
Clare (Paton-Walsh) Murphy Clare (Paton-Walsh) Murphy
University of Wollongong, Australia
Jennifer Murphy Jennifer Murphy
University of Toronto, Canada
Manish Naja Manish Naja
Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences (AIRES), India
Kim Oanh Kim Oanh
Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Thailand
Noureddine Yassaa Noureddine Yassaa
Centre de Développement des Energies Renouvelables (CDER), Algeria
Mei Zheng Photo Mei Zheng
Peking University, China


John Burrows John P. Burrows
iCACGP, Germany
Kasuga photo Fumiko Kasuga
Future Earth, Japan
Alfonso Saiz-Lopez Alfonso Saiz-Lopez
SOLAS, Spain
Vinayak Sinha Vinayak Sinha
iLEAPS, India
Oksana Tarasova Oksana Tarasova
WMO, Switzerland